PDA

View Full Version : First handgun purchase newb.

Jaysop
01-08-12, 19:34
I completely apologize if this topic has been covered and I missed it, Id hate to be that guy. You can tear me apart if you want im a newb and deserve it.
I saw a few that touched some key points but they were a little old and from what I gather the handgun world is rapidly changing.

Im not very knowledgeable about handguns in general and being from NY you cant even touch one in the store until you have a permit. Ill be moving out of state soon, and ill have my NY permit soon as well.

So I know id like a 9mm. I used them in the MIL for brief qualifications. And I like the price of the round as well.

What I don't know is what gun to get.
Im NOT asking people to tell me what to get as much as Id like to be pointed in the direction to learn what makes them better or more proficient in my needs.
My needs are mostly range, training, HD in a lower priority. Not carry.

There aren't many stickies on handgun info, where do I look for general education on this?

I THINK I want either a Glock 19 or SW MP9 because they seem to be the most common and well liked around here. Iv handled both. The Glock feels flimsy to crudely say. The MP feels very solid. But I gather that the Glock is overall better.
Both seem to have they're issues tho. The only reason Im leaning towards the MP is that I like it more visually. But that's no reason to buy.

So what should my first step be? Obviously seeking training on how to use it will be my highest priority. And I wouldn't be opposed to buying something later down the road if I find that the pistol I initially buy isn't perfect for me.

Snake Plissken
01-08-12, 19:56
Budget?

Glock 34 with new trigger
CZ 75 SA
M&P 9L with APEX or similar trigger overhaul
German-made P226
CZ SP-01 Shadow
Walther PPQ