PDA

View Full Version : Help is need with an Upgrade Project to convert a A2 CAR to a Flatop

af22raptor
01-09-12, 00:19
I have a Bushmaster 11.5 inch Heavy Barrel with a 5.5 CAR Flash Hider that has been worked over and its very accurate and reliable after several growing pains. I purchased the carbine back in 1999 and the upper receiver is a A2 without m4 feed ramps. Now here is my issue I would like to swap out the A2 upper to a Flat top but since the barrel does not have the M4 feed ramp on the barrel extension I either have to get a new barrel extension plus the tool to do so plus the receiver. I would like to just do a upper receiver swap and keep the cost to a minimum since I am also working on a 18 inch SPR clone with all the bells and whistles. Any one know of someone selling a solid A3 upper without the M4 feed ramps?

thanks.

Iraqgunz
01-09-12, 00:55
Since you are bound and determined to keep the BM barrel.

http://www.tacticalinc.com/flat-upper-receiver-ar15-style-rifle-p-1133.html

I have a Bushmaster 11.5 inch Heavy Barrel with a 5.5 CAR Flash Hider that has been worked over and its very accurate and reliable after several growing pains. I purchased the carbine back in 1999 and the upper receiver is a A2 without m4 feed ramps. Now here is my issue I would like to swap out the A2 upper to a Flat top but since the barrel does not have the M4 feed ramp on the barrel extension I either have to get a new barrel extension plus the tool to do so plus the receiver. I would like to just do a upper receiver swap and keep the cost to a minimum since I am also working on a 18 inch SPR clone with all the bells and whistles. Any one know of someone selling a solid A3 upper without the M4 feed ramps?

thanks.

karlb
01-10-12, 11:41
I've used this $89 RRA reciever recently to do much the same thing.
http://www.pkfirearms.com/Upper_Receivers/25/c

m16
01-10-12, 12:53
Do you have a sight base pinned to that barrel?