PDA

View Full Version : CCW *near* a College Campus in Florida?

Eurodriver
01-12-12, 09:56
editted

Palmguy
01-12-12, 10:28
I'll check Gutmacher's book when I get home, I think this may be addressed. I went to UCF which is a very centralized campus...for something like UF which is more along the lines of what you describe and with my recollection of the relevant statute you should be good to go as long as you stay off of university property.

markm
01-12-12, 13:03
Concealed means Concealed?

Shoot... I used to carry in class when I was a college student. You're worried about going down the street??

Eurodriver
01-12-12, 16:13
Thanks Palmguy, I appreciate it.

Concealed means Concealed?

Shoot... I used to carry in class when I was a college student. You're worried about going down the street??

I didn't say I wasn't carrying my gun, I only asked if it was legal. ;)

I'm asking because yesterday I was in a situation where if I was anywhere else I would have drawn my weapon, but since I was so close to school I withheld because I don't want to get charged with a felony unless I know for sure I'm going to be attacked (meaning, I'm being attacked already).

Luckily the situation was deescalated but I am curious now.

Kchen986
01-12-12, 20:26
Hey bud, you'll want to search here:

http://myfloridalegal.com/pages.nsf/Main/4FF72ECF62927EEA85256CC6007B4517

(Florida AG's website & Opinions).

However, I'd think the legislative intent of such prohibitions was to keep CCW'd guns off of campuses completely. You'll note that the the language of 790.06 states "colleges and university facilities." Whether colleges and university modifies "facilities" or whether "colleges" is separate from "university facilities" will give you your answer.