PDA

View Full Version : HK to Glock shooting frustrations

ejewels
01-17-12, 21:01
Hey Guys, so I used to shoot my G19 a lot, then as I became more proficient, I got into 1911s. Finally I ended up with a HK45c recently and have been shooting that dead accurately. I'm still a novice, maybe intermediate shooter and definitely an avid hobbyist. My question is this. I took out the G19 today that I thought I was good with. I fired 50 rounds. the last 20 rounds my groups tightened up, but they were all high and left.

Any ideas? Anyone go from shooting another platform to a glock shoot high and left? My groups were tight, they were just about 2.5-3 inches high and to the left.

Cosmo M3
01-17-12, 21:24
Different guns. Different triggers. Different technique.

Heavy Metal
01-17-12, 21:30
One of the reasons I stick with Glock is the muscle-memory you build on one model Glock translates pretty well to all of them.

There are enough models that it is easy to stick with one platform.

ejewels
01-17-12, 21:41
I'm just hoping its me, and not the gun. I couldn't even hit the bulls. All shots were high left. I had to actively aim low to get correct hits. Maybe I was holding differently, i know the HK hold is different. I was holding the top of the front sight under the bulls... and still going high. :confused:

KCBRUIN
01-17-12, 21:43
When I first started shooting M&P's it was always shooting a friends right after my Glock. I would always shoot low. After shooting them more frequently that went away and I no longer have that problem even if I switch guns mag to mag. Just takes practice if you're going to own and depend on both.

I'm guessing if you shoot your Glock for a month or so then switch to your 1911 or HK you'll shoot those low. Different grip angles.

ejewels
01-17-12, 21:49
Ah, good point. Maybe since the grip angle is a little different, thats not helping the situation...

Heavy Metal
01-17-12, 21:54