PDA

View Full Version : Rem 700 sps tactical vs varmint

xarmyguy77
01-18-12, 16:55
Im looking to buy my first Rem 700. Ive been seeing the sps tactical go on sale couple times a year in my area. My question is this, is the 20" barrel better in .308 or is the 26" barrel on the varmint better. Im shooting f class matches at 600 yds max for now. Seems the 26" might give me little higher velocity. Im no expert in .308 so looking for opinions of those in the know.
Thanks in advance!

mark5pt56
01-18-12, 17:11
Savage also came out with a F class ready rifle if that fits you better. I would go with the longer barrel to start. Yes the 20" will go to 1k bu the 26" will give you a bit more velocity which will help with the wind a bit more. I would find a 700 or even 70 action and have it barreled to a more fitting caliber for F class unless you want the FTR class, which is .223 or .308 only
I know this limits it's use otherwise being single shot
http://www.savagearms.com/firearms/models/

luvmy40
01-18-12, 19:31
At 600yds, the 20" will serve you well. Keep in mind that the Hogue overmolded stock on the SPS Tactical AAC SD is junk.. Very flexible and makes contact with the barrel very easily. It's also very easy to torque on a bi-pod.

I spent a bit of time trying to reinforce the Hogue stock's fore arm and stabilize it but, alas it's still a POS! It's a shame because I really do like the tactile feel and contours of this stock.

I see a McMillan or HS precision stock in my very near future.

Pappabear
01-18-12, 22:28
I went with the 20 inch. Both are good. I also bit the bullet and went with Tactical-threaded barrel, stainless ,5R, with upgraded stock. You are going to pay for all that at about $1,000. Pay it now or pay it later.

Its a great starter gun with many options for the future.

anthony1
01-18-12, 22:59
If you're only going to use it for target shooting l cant see any reason to get a shorter barrel.

drck1000
01-19-12, 01:50