PDA

View Full Version : Bushmaster ORC front sight debacle

Green Leader
01-20-12, 09:33
I have a Bushmaster ORC 16in. It seems that Bushmaster/YHM has discontinued the optional front sight that can screw over the low profile gas block that comes with this rife.

In a earlier post I was thinking about getting Troy Industries BattleRail TRX Alpha Rail (11-Inch). Will this fit over the stock Bushmaster low profile gas block? How difficult would this installation be, does anyone have experience with this upgrade?

Thanks in advance.

VIP3R 237
01-20-12, 09:44
I have a Bushmaster ORC 16in. It seems that Bushmaster/YHM has discontinued the optional front sight that can screw over the low profile gas block that comes with this rife.

In a earlier post I was thinking about getting Troy Industries BattleRail TRX Alpha Rail (11-Inch). Will this fit over the stock Bushmaster low profile gas block? How difficult would this installation be, does anyone have experience with this upgrade?

Thanks in advance.

Awesome rail, however you will have to remove your bayonet lug and sling mount with a dremel. Or you can buy a lp gas block but the cut down fsb is the best choice.

Green Leader
01-20-12, 09:50
Awesome rail, however you will have to remove your bayonet lug and sling mount with a dremel. Or you can buy a lp gas block but the cut down fsb is the best choice.

Thanks for the quick reply. As far as removing the old cylindrical free-float hand guard, does it screw off. I am guessing the Troy will come with it's own mounting hardware to replace what Bushmaster has?

I am just trying to get a gauge on how hard this install would be. Cutting down the sling mount should not be an issue. Just unsure on current hand guard removal.

Iraqgunz
01-20-12, 11:28
I think your set up has the YHM rail that screws onto the large aluminum barrel nut. You will need a YHM wrench to remove the rail and in some cases they can be so difficult that you will need to simply cut it off.