PDA

View Full Version : Suggestions for a new .45

McDiddles
01-23-12, 16:03
I'm coming up on my 21st birthday and I'm looking for some suggestions on any .45's that any of you recommend. I'm primarily looking for one to use at the range/protection and for conceal and carry. I'm still quite new to this whole world and have only shot a fair amount of assault rifles and a small amount of handguns but hopefully I can learn much more after I purchase my own.

obucina
01-23-12, 16:06
HK45C, maybe?

Grizzly16
01-23-12, 16:08
What guns have you shot and liked/not liked? What is your budget?

masakari
01-23-12, 16:13
Go to a gunstore and see what feels good to you. Check out 1911s, Glocks, XDs, M&Ps, and all that double action crap and see what fits you best.

loupav
01-23-12, 16:52
...and all that double action crap and see what fits you best.

Just when I was going to suggest an HK45! LOL I suppose an HK45/c with LEM Trigger?

KCBRUIN
01-23-12, 17:06
Why are you choosing .45? If you're stuck on .45 I say HK 45c or m&p midsize .45.

You'd be better off with a Glock 19 tho.

skyugo
01-23-12, 17:45
Why are you choosing .45? If you're stuck on .45 I say HK 45c or m&p midsize .45.

You'd be better off with a Glock 19 tho.

or a p2000, p30 or m&p 9...
9 is a much cheaper way to build proficiency, and proficiency trumps caliber.

Noodle
01-23-12, 18:10
I have had an HK45C and an HK45. Both fine guns. However, my only 45 now is a 1911.

For your first hand gun, consider a 9mm. Cheap ammo so you can shoot more often. Check out http://www.best9mm.com/

Good luck!

mrosamilia
01-23-12, 18:18
Love my 1911 and HK45CT

F-Trooper05
01-23-12, 18:22
https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread.php?t=95930

CDR_Glock
01-23-12, 18:29
I have 3 45 ACPs.

Glock 36
Glock 30
Mars Armament THUG Colt 1911

I recommend a Glock 30. Accurate and soft recoil.

Lifetime NRA Member

bigghoss
01-23-12, 19:18