PDA

View Full Version : Missing the industry - becoming an armorer/trainer?

ASH556
01-24-12, 08:19
All through college and for a couple years after I worked in retail firearm sales for a local FFL/SOT/Range. It was a fun gig, but working 6-10pm after a full day's work as an engineer just got to be not much fun anymore. Priorities changed, I got married, bought a house, and wanted the time at home.

I've enjoyed the break, but I'm really starting to miss the industry. It seems to me that the best/most enjoyable way to get back into it a bit would be as an armorer. I LOVE turning wrenches on AR's. I've done it quite a bit, but everything was learned "on the bench." So to refresh my memory and gain some official creds, I'm thinking of taking an armorer's course. I'd like to know where they are offered, which are good and which are not, and how much they cost. EDIT: Also meant to ask what, if any, license is required to be in posession of customers' guns for work.

In addition to the armoring, I'd like to see about doing some firearms instruction. It seems that the best place to start would be to get NRA certified, and I know someone locally that can help with that. Beyond that, maybe pursue a VSM accreditation. Georgia doesn't seem to have much going on in the way of formal training, at least not in the ATL metro, and so it seems like it would be a fertile market to sew into.

I'd appreciate input and comments from folks who have been or are in the industry and their experiences or recommendations.

Oh, I should add that for now, due to things like profit sharing, medical benefits, and income security, I plan to maintain my full-time job (40 hrs/wk).

Kickin-Ewoks
01-24-12, 12:31
I have been considering some training and certification, mainly just to help out a local gun shop and do some stuff out of my home, maybe a small hobby business.