PDA

View Full Version : Those who use motor oil for lube...

WS6
12-17-07, 01:44
Ok, let me state first that I have no experience using motor oil for lube. I do know a lot about motor oil though, and from what I know this TM is a bit off, what do you all make of it?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v489/Metroliner/Moil.jpg

evilmonkey
12-19-07, 19:10
I think I'll stick to mobile 1;)

PetesTactical
12-19-07, 20:50
Moble 1 Good

Dave L.
12-19-07, 21:23
Anyone tried Quaker State Q (Full Synthetic)?

WS6
12-20-07, 00:03
Anyone tried Quaker State Q (Full Synthetic)?

I would wager that diesel oils are the best as they contain the most detergents. Something like Rotella T synthetic would be optimum.

evilmonkey
12-20-07, 00:59
Thats an interesting point! I've been wanting to try out diesel oil for that reason. I have found that mobil 1 works better then CLP but to be honest I've never tried diesel oil. Ill try it out at the machine gun shoot in a few weeks at the impact zone here in houston.

WS6
12-20-07, 01:43
Thats an interesting point! I've been wanting to try out diesel oil for that reason. I have found that mobil 1 works better then CLP but to be honest I've never tried diesel oil. Ill try it out at the machine gun shoot in a few weeks at the impact zone here in houston.

All I know is that running Shell Rotella T in my old LT1 Trans Am sure cleaned it out! The guy had run GTX before and the Rotella had to be changed every could hundred miles for the first 1500 or so miles. Each time the filter was full of pudding consistancy sludge. It's a wonder I didn't stop up the oil pickup tube screen.

sff70
12-20-07, 10:58
Works good for me.

I'm about 1/2 way through a quart bottle purchased in the late 1990s.

Apart from that, I will use TW25B or other lightweight grease when grease is needed.

HolyRoller
12-20-07, 11:48
I know "why" questions make people defensive and all, but why do we need detergent oil in a rifle?

mark5pt56
12-20-07, 12:33