PDA

View Full Version : DI or Piston for SBR 10.5" barrel?

dtibbals
02-02-12, 10:41
I am brand new to SBR and plan on buying one this summer. I have all Noveske rifles in my safe now and intended to buy another one from them for my SBR 5.56 10.5" barrel. I plan on running it pretty much all the time with an AAC M4-2000 suppressor. I would order it with the switch block but was wondering how reliable that set up is? Would it be better to purchase an LMT or LWRC piston upper with that short of a barrel?

I used to own an LMT piston 16" and it was a great upper but found that in a quality rifle with 16" barrel the piston really wasn't of much advantage.

So piston or DI for an SBR? Which is the most reliable?

Thanks
DT

Javelin
02-02-12, 10:47
I spent so much time making the decision as to whether or not to go piston for a 10.5" SBR.

In the end I ended up with 2 Noveske SBRs (5.56 & 300BLK). The 5.56 has a switchblock and both have functioned flawlessly. So I guess I chose right?

:D

C-grunt
02-02-12, 10:50
I believe the conventional wisdom is SBR suppressed and full auto. If you are doing all three a piston should be considered.

R0CKETMAN
02-02-12, 11:07
I've been running a 9.25" piston suppressed for a couple years now. I'm also using a DI 7". Both run, both get dirty, both give me a gas high.

viperashes
02-02-12, 12:23
I personally run a PWS MK 110. The limited time I got with it before heading back out here to AFG had it running great suppressed and unsuppressed.

Ultimately, if you go with a quality FACTORY built SBR upper, it shouldn't ever give you any major issues, as long as you're using a standard spring and the correct buffer.

Moltke
02-02-12, 12:35
There is no reason that you "have" to go piston, in fact, many consider it NOT to be superior to a DI AR anyway. A piston rifle keeping a receiver clean is a matter of convenience, not a matter of functional or design superiority in the weapon system.

markm
02-02-12, 12:36