PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on this build?

Bluedreaux
02-04-12, 21:16
I figure it would be best to explain what I need first, then what I'm loooking at and why.

I'm a cop and firearms instructor looking for a new patrol rifle. My experience with ARs has been limited to a Colt Commando with an Eotech and the enormous Surefire that replaces the foreend. I can't remember the specific model numbers but it's not really pertinent anyway.

I did a lot of training in-house and through the Texas Tactical Police Officers' Association, but never any outside training that was AR specific. I have done a lot of outside pistol and some precision rifle training. I'm tactically sound, just not really comfortable with an AR.

I switched departments recently and had to turn in my issued rifle, so it's time to buy my own.

Department regs dictate a 16" barrel, no compensators, all black in finish, and manufacturer (Colt, BCM and DD are all approved).

I'm looking at a BCM 16" LW HF upper from Grant.
16"...my only option.
LW...ounces make pounds and if I have occasion to use a long gun it usually ends up getting carried for a while.
HF...because the 16" LW is offered as HF and they come highly recommended.

Mod4 charging handle...it seems like a good, well executed option and is available from Grant. I haven't used these before and went with the "4" because I figured the middle option would be not too big or too small. Pure guesswork, thoughts?

BCM BCG

Troy TRX Extreme 9" rails...I've handled them before and liked the grip. Seemed like it would provide plenty of grab regardless of conditions. It's also light, which is important to me. Troy is redesigning these and the new version should be out by the time I'm ready to build. I'll send it to Grant for installation.

BCM Blem Lower
MOE stock and grip...I've used them on friends' rifles and didn't have any complaints. Seemed like a low cost option until I see an actual need to upgrade.