PDA

View Full Version : Want to build a range gun

snakedoc257
02-05-12, 17:44
Looking for some advice and opinions on building/assembling my lower. I would like to assemble a 20" gun for plinking and target shooting at the range. My range goes out to 300 yards. Any thoughts?

This will be a hobby gun. I don't intend on competing with it, but I would like it to be pretty accurate.

Do I need to free float the barrel? What are the advantages of the stainless bull barrel uppers? If I went with a SS bull barrel would 16" do what I want to do?

Thanks, for any input. I'm not new to AR's, but I'm not an expert either.

Vulture38
02-05-12, 18:04
If it's just a hobby/fun gun, you might not want to spend a bunch of money in its construction. The difference being made up in ammo.

I think once you have it zeroed, you'll find it is accurate.

snakedoc257
02-05-12, 18:17
You are correct; I don't want to spend a bunch of money on it, but I'm not building junk either. I already have a fixed stock and a stripped lower. I'm just trying to decide on what kind of upper to do.

Anyone here done a Bull Barrell upper or is that a no no on this site? How is the quality from M&A parts. They advertise on this site and I'm looking at their Varmint uppers.

I was thinking a 20", but now I'm thinking a 16" would be nice. What do you guys think?

crusader377
02-05-12, 22:32
If you want maximum accuracy on a 16" or 18" I think I would check out rainier arms and pick up one of their select or match barrels and either have them build a upper or assemble your own. Both the select and match barrels are supposed to shoot under 1 MOA and cost $190 and $225 respectively.

BCM makes some great 16" and 18" SS uppers but will probably be a bit priceier.

If you want a 20" I would just pick out a BCM 20" Govt upper which should run between $550-$600 complete with BCG, CH, and hand guards. Although this is not a match type rifle, with good ammunition it should shoot better than 99% of rifle shooters.