PDA

View Full Version : Precision AR Questions

Neeglik
08-23-06, 14:38
A couple things I'm trying to figure out here guys. I can't seem to leave well enough alone, so I'm trying to decide what I might want to build next. So anywho, here goes:

First off, I'm new to the whole mid-length gas system thing. I'm in the middle of building my first one. I see where the mid-length gas system is "superior" to the carbine, but how does it compare to the rifle-length system?

Along the same lines, if you are trying to soften the already low recoil of the AR rifle (a middy), where would your efforts be best placed; muzzle brake, heavy buffers, etc?

Lastly, in seeking a mid-range (50-500yd) AR with sub-moa accuracy, in what order of importance would you rank the following (all other things being equal; ammo, skill, etc.):
barrel
optic
trigger

From what I've been reading, it sounds like it would be pretty equal with the first two, with a two-stage trigger coming in last. What I'm wondering here is where I will get the most bang for my buck. Would a govt' profile barrel with excellent glass get the job done, or would I be better served with a SS match barrel and a lesser scope? FWIW, I have no experience with aftermarket triggers, but I've never really had a problem with the standard ones.

Thanks guys...

Hoplophile
08-23-06, 18:01
Lastly, in seeking a mid-range (50-500yd) AR with sub-moa accuracy, in what order of importance would you rank the following (all other things being equal; ammo, skill, etc.):
barrel
optic
trigger