PDA

View Full Version : 2.5 inch 686 Plus

Animal_Mother556
02-10-12, 03:41
I have recently acquired one. I would like to carry it. I am not new to shooting revolvers, but I am new to carrying them. What kinds of holsters are you all using with your revolvers? I would prefer to carry this thing OWB but can't decide between Kydex and leather.

Thanks, guys.

Animal_Mother556
02-10-12, 11:13
No one? Okay...do any of you even carry a K or L framed revolver with short bbl??? (or any full-sized revolver)

Jason Falla
02-10-12, 11:20
For me holster choice is not about the type of weapon that I am carrying but where I want to carry it, how long I have to carry it for, the type of function that I am performing with the gun, what situations or positions I am likely to have to present the gun from.

I like carrying outside the waist band and I use predominately a leather holster for my day to day activities. I know that I am slightly slower using a leather holster over my kydex but comfort plays a big part during my day to day carry.

If I am performing a security role, EP, PSD or similar, I will use Kydex for the most part as I may be more likely to produce the weapon in that role.

You may be restricted in the kydex due to not many manufacturers making a holster to fit that gun. You will definitely be able to find a leather on though.

Just some thoughts.

Hizzie
02-10-12, 14:14
I packed a S&W 681PC Quadport 4" for a long time. I used a Ready Tactical Products paddle holster and speedloader holder. Would have prefered a Comp-Tac but the mold was broke at the time. Cylinder bulge and overall weight are the enemy. A good belt, possibly suspenders, a quality holster and proper cover garment will make it possible. I prefer SL Variant speedloaders for reloads backed up with plenty of speed strips stashed like fire extinguishers here and there. Oh, and pics or it never happened!

savagesteel
02-10-12, 15:06