PDA

View Full Version : Shooting off hand, how good is good?

TheCracker
02-17-12, 10:22
I'm a total AR noob and have only had my Smith and Wesson m&p 15 optics ready for 2 weeks.

Anyhow, I put a EOtech XPS2-0 on it last week and zeroed the rifle. For the heck of it I decided to do some off hand steel shooting @50 yards and it was a lot harder than I thought it would be to hold the thing still. I could hit the 8" plate with ease but really had to focus to hit the 4" plate. Obviously, I can hit the plate from a bench with ease and was getting .5" groups @50 on paper from the bench.

I am going to attempt some 100 yard shooting for the heck of it. Just for the challenge.

So, what would be acceptable off hand groups at 50, 100 yards and maybe beyond? Is there a standard that people try to get to?

I plan to start trying to build my skills for the fun of it.

militarymoron
02-17-12, 10:31
i think i'm pretty happy to hold 8-10 MOA at any distance, offhand, standing. so, that'd be approx 2.5" at 25, 5" at 50, 10" at 100 etc. this is taking my time, slow fire.

Locutus
02-17-12, 10:34
So, what would be acceptable off hand groups at 50, 100 yards and maybe beyond? Is there a standard that people try to get to?

When I was in the Marine Corps, staying inside a 12" bullseye at 200 yards with open sights was the goal and a fairly reasonable one at that (if you couldn't do the same in the sitting and kneeling positions, then you probably needed extra instruction). Now that they use ACOGs, they may have made it more difficult.

Doc Safari
02-17-12, 10:43