PDA

View Full Version : Your thoughts:

Phillykid
02-20-12, 22:10
Here is my dilemma: for my first AR

LMT CQB MRP- $1350 brand new

OR.

POF-308, $1500, 2009 model NP3 lower-used 400 rounds down the pipe..

Need your expertise, which one should I buy & why. Advantages vs. Disadvantages..

Does the POF offer the same versatility as the LMT...

Could I change the barrel & bolt in the POF- to shoot a 556 or 223..

Thanks for all your help I cannot wait to pick one up this week.

Best Regards,

ryan
02-20-12, 22:34
I have no personal experience with either company's rifles.

The LMT would be my choice for several reasons, cheaper to shoot, more parts commonality/availability, durability, etc.

In what capacity will this rifle be used? The POF "may" have the edge in long range accuracy and it may not. There also maybe a reason you are unaware of as to why it is sitting for sale used.

A search and some study here will answer most if not all of your questions. POF is not highly regarded here and I agree as I had my fill of proprietary piston guns.

ICANHITHIMMAN
02-20-12, 22:39
LMT hands down dont even consider the other one. I have an MRP its my favorite. I tried to order a POF back in 2005 before I knew better, Im actually glad they were dicks on the phone cause it saved me from buying their rifle.

DeltaSierra
02-20-12, 22:41
LMT, hands down.

LMT has (in my experience) excellent customer service, and delivers excellent products.

One of the many benefits with the LMT (beside the fact that you will actually be buying a quality product) is that you can always convert the rifle back to DI with minimal cost when you realize that you made a mistake getting the op-rod actuated system...

If you have a 5.56 barrel, you don't need to change anything in order to shoot .223 through the 5.56 barrel.

ALCOAR
02-20-12, 22:56
You already got three great replies from very well respected members on this forum, so I'll just add that I completely concur with what they said.