PDA

View Full Version : NH Man Arrested for Firing Gun into the Ground

CarlosDJackal
02-21-12, 13:32
NH man arrested for firing gun into the ground while capturing robber (http://www.foxnews.com/us/2012/02/21/new-hampshire-man-faces-felony-charge-after-firing-gun-into-ground-near-burglar/?test=latestnews)

This is why we were taught not to fire any warning shots. IMHO, the man screwed up because he put others in danger from the possible ricochet.

However, I think it is bogus that he will be charged for a felony for something like this. I hope they just let him off with a warning. JM2CW.

Irish
02-21-12, 17:49
I'm not a proponent of warning shots. However, anyone complicit in charging this man with a crime should be shot themselves. No one was harmed and it ended with the bad guy being put in jail.

maximus83
02-21-12, 18:12
I just read about this independently and came over to M4c to post about it.

Setting aside the issue of warning shots, it's just infuriating that this guy, who has a totally clean record and a legally owned pistol, could be arrested under the circumstances. OK, so it's illegal to fire your pistol except in direct self-defense, but what about when (a) your house has been robbed, (b) the burglar obviously just robbed the neighbor's house and is exiting it, and (c) you don't want to let him run off with your stuff but you feel endangered. Something very like this happened in TX and the property owner was let go, under MUCH more extreme circumstances.

I too hope he gets off with a warning, even if he was "guilty" of violating some NH statute.

ForTehNguyen
02-21-12, 19:00
funny, a guy here in Houston did the same thing with a .50 Desert Eagle when someone was getting robbed on his street and the cops didnt care. Havent seen any articles showing they were gonna charge him

Irish
02-21-12, 19:06