Thread: $500 ACOG TA01NSN...?

Feedback Score

$500 ACOG TA01NSN...?

I got a call from a buddy today saying a local surplus-type place had some military Trijicon sites for $500. I have a Reflex on my Colt 6921, and based on the price I figured they had something similar. I had no intentions of spending $500 on anything today, but I drove over for a look-see.

I have no experience with the ACOG's, but they certainly looked like what I now know is the 4x32 TA01's with back up "iron" sights on them. As I was trying to decide if they were legit or not, a guy bought the remaining 5-6 they had.

So, while I was not in the market for one, couldn't have described one to you until I came home and Googled "ACOG", and can't switch out the Reflex on my issued duty rifle for one, I still drove away feeling like "What the Hell did I just miss out on?"

Feedback Score
    15 (100%)
    Get serial numbers and call trijicon. Also... check date codes.
    Acta Non Verba

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    Try to get a date of manufacture from Trijicon based on the SN's in order to see how much time the tritium has got left. I think the cost of tritium / prism replacement is around $250, but don't quote me on that. Tritium has a half life of 12.5 years. This information should help you make a decision.

ETA: Just saw this is all hypothetical anyway, since the guy bought them all.
    Last edited by a0cake; 03-07-12 at 22:18.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by New Centurion View Post
    As I was trying to decide if they were legit or not, a guy bought the remaining 5-6 they had.
    RIF..
    Certified Glock Armorer

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)