Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Used Brass Usage Viability?- Explanatory Pics Included

Feedback Score
    82 (100%)

Used Brass Usage Viability?- Explanatory Pics Included

I'm not really sure what to even search for here, so I'm just going to spit it out-

Since picking up a reloading setup, even though I have yet to reload a single round, I have become a total brass whore- every time I see that golden glimmer I usually end up making an immediate involuntary lunge in its general direction.
    I have happily ammased quite a stockpile of the stuff, but here's the question-

How do I know if the cases are any good? I have everything from near perfect cases to stuff that's just flat squished.
    Now, I'm still a reloading noob, and I know that you do a resize on the cases before you load them, but how much damage can a case have to it before it won't work?
    Asside from damage to the mouth, what about dents and creases in the side if the case?

Below are some pics of .45 pistol and .223 rifle brass, in varying states of damage- order is best to worst= left to right.
    If you fine fellows could tell me from the pictures what's worth using/keeping I would really appreciate it.
    I'm assuming whatever is good to go with these two would be good with any other caliber?

Rifle brass:

Pistol brass:

"Once we get some iron in our souls, we'll get some iron in our hands..."

"...A rapid, aggressive response will let you get away with some pretty audacious things if you are willing to be mean, fast, and naked."-Failure2Stop

"The Right can meme; the Left can organize. I guess now we know which one is important." - Random internet comment

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    There doesn't seem to be anything to worry about with those pieces of brass. I've salvaged worse. If you ever get anything with an odd chambering that requires you to make your own brass you'll see worse.