Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: AR upper Question

Feedback Score

AR upper Question

If I were to purchase a new 6920 upper to have as a back up, could I slap it on my current 6920 lower and be all set or is there more to it?

Thanks,
    Donka

Feedback Score
    104 (100%)
    Is this for real or a joke? You already own Colt 6920, but don't know if an extra upper will just drop on. Do you have any knowledge of the AR series at all? If not, I suggest you keep it simple and stick with one gun and forget the extra upper.

Now to answer a little more direct.

1. If the upper is a complete assy. and the pin holes are the same size then yes you can just drop it on.

2. If it is just an upper w/o bolt carrier group and chraging handle you will need to put those parts in first. Of course, you should also check the headspace, but based on you post you probably won't know how to do it.

My advice is to K.I.S.S.

Feedback Score
    As you can tell, this is my first time owning an AR rifle, so yes, this question is real.

I was just curious if there was anything more to it than the normal reassembly. I figured there wasn't, but wanted to be 100% sure.

I appreciate your patience and knowledge.

Thanks.

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    You may find that locating a 6920 complete upper alone can be problematic, and costly if you do.

If you're just concerned with having a spare, I would strongly recomend an LMT complete upper from www.gandrtactical.com or www.rainierarms.com, or check the equipment exchange on arfcom for dealers offering them with charging handles or handguards as incentives.

Feedback Score
    Thanks for the help and links rob_s

Feedback Score
    15 (100%)