Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My journey through fitting and assembly my own 1911

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

My journey through fitting and assembly my own 1911

A few months ago I set out to fit and assemble my own 1911. I have no gunsmithing experience whatsoever and wanted to see if I can make a gun as good as those in the ranks of Wilson, Nighthawk, Les Baer etc.

I bought the kit from Fusion, keeping in mind that I wanted checkering already done because I don't have the skill or tools to do that. Fusion provided most of the parts where I sourced a couple other parts from other reputable companies.

Here were some random notes during the month build- accompanied by the finished pictures:

I fitted the slide to frame, and barrel to slide. I throated the barrel and polished the lip as well as the outer portion of the chamber. Sticking with the slide I tuned the extractor first with snap caps then moving to live rounds by racking the slide without the fire control group installed.

The Grips were custom by AlumaGrips- it is my Chinese family name.

After that has been fitted I went for the FCG. Carefully stoning the sear and hammer contact surfaces and messing with the leaf spring I got a reliable 3.5# crisp trigger.

The trigger fitting itself was pretty tricky. There was a perfect balance between free moving and too much play. I settled a little on the conservative side and kept the trigger where it is loose, but not free moving. In the end it does not mess with feel at all.

Since everything came oversized, there was a lot of sanding. The beavertail took a lot of work and I think I even sanded a bit too much off one side. There is probably a few thousands of movement side to side, but does not change the feel at all when gripped correctly.