Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: So are "Wilson Combat 47D" THE mags to buy?????

Feedback Score

So are "Wilson Combat 47D" THE mags to buy?????

1911 noob here,

im about ready to pull-the-trigger on my FIRST 1911, either going to be a Springfield TRP or Kimber Warrior.....

I know that the magazines are critical for function on a 1911 and want to stock up before i get my gun......

read a lot about the wilson combat mags, are these the ones i need to buy for these particular guns???

thanks

Bruce

Feedback Score
    Yes. I've been using the WC 47D magazines for more than 15 years and in my opinion they are the best. I've been shooting 1911's for around 30 years and before I got turned onto the Wilson mags I used standard government issue mags and whatever other commercial products I found. I'm a big fan of Wilson Combat 1911's and their customer service is outstanding.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by dash1 View Post
    Yes. I've been using the WC 47D magazines for more than 15 years and in my opinion they are the best. I've been shooting 1911's for around 30 years and before I got turned onto the Wilson mags I used standard government issue mags and whatever other commercial products I found. I'm a big fan of Wilson Combat 1911's and their customer service is outstanding.
    thank you

Bruce

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Generally I've found Hilton Yam's advice on magazines to be spot on. Here's a link to the article.

Consistent with Yam's article, I found my Wilson 47Ds lost spring strength fairly quickly, and they were inconsistent in locking back the slide on my Springfield Armory 1911. I've had much more consistent results with the CMC Powermags. At this point, all of my remaining 47s have been upgraded with the Tripp Super 7 kit, and are (now) very reliable.

Were I buying additional magazines today, I'd purchase additional CMCs or Wilson ETMs per Yam's advice.