Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: NY's Gun Community Has Gone Insane (Help Define The Actual Laws)

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

NY's Gun Community Has Gone Insane (Help Define The Actual Laws)

Hey Guys,

Please if you are a lawyer in our state, or an LEO with actual knowledge of our gun laws it would be awesome if you chimed in, as I am a bit confused a little upset at the moment regarding the culture that seems to be infiltrating the NY state firearms community.

Before I bought an AR in NY I researched the AWB and I have always made sure I am operating within the letter of the law. I have a terminal degree, I was honors student, and I understand how to interpret and read laws, so I was a bit shocked when I started hearing this new interpretation of our law pop up over the past weeks:

"It is illegal to put a pre ban magazine in a post ban gun".

There is 0 mention of this in our AWB, but I have heard this interpretation at three different locations in the last two weeks and I'm a bit concerned about where it is coming from.

I was sold a post ban AK from a registered FFL with a pre ban magazine included in the sale, so now I'm reluctant to take any of my rifles shooting as I only own pre ban magazines for the AK and one ten round for the AR. I could see getting swept up in this climate and having the law simply change without any actual notice.

Does anyone have any thoughts?
    Mobocracy is alive and well in America.*
    *Supporting Evidence for Hypothesis: The Internet
    -me

'All of my firearms have 4 military features, a barrel, a trigger, a hammer, and a stock."
    -coworker

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    FWIW California's AWB is such you can have preban standard cap magazines but if you put them in a post ban rifles you' ve manufactured an assault rifle. Felony.

I wouldn't be surprised if our guvna Moonbeam and your guvna Ichabod Crane got on the same page regarding that.
    Last edited by xrayoneone; 01-12-13 at 22:55.