Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Proctor sling- a minimalist 2 point

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Proctor sling- a minimalist 2 point

I've been using VTAC and VCAS slings for several years, and last year tried the Mission Ready "Sheriff of Baghdad" sling. They are all good in their own way and have their own advantages.

I recently tried Frank Proctor's sling and I've found it to be an effective take on the "minimalist" approach to gear.

1) lightweight, but the webbing isn't too thin
    2) no tail to catch on your belt gear
    3) mounts quickly and easily without the need for 2 x $15 QD swivels, or QD swivel mounts that add weight and cost
    4) if you mount the front of your sling closer to the muzzle, as it mounts with a 550 para cord loop, your hand can get good purchase on the handguard since there is no QD socket

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dyAcYA0MLkw

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)
    I have Larry's sling and have no reason to switch, but I'd buy Frank's sling if I need a second, just due to the fact it functions all the same, but lets the rifle lay flat on flat barricades.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I have both of Frank's slings, and they're both great pieces of gear. I have found that I actually prefer his first version better though.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Necro Post:

There has been some discussion about the BCM Gunfighter stock and Paracord/550 cord attachments, here: https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread...e-works/page24

I took a look at the Proctor sling info (various videos), and noted that putting one of the vinyl tube cinches on (the forward or the rearward connection) was recommended as a retrofit. See: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T6agYaKX4XA#t=170