Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: SCAR 17s vs. SIG 716 & 516

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)

SCAR 17s vs. SIG 716 & 516

so I'm kinda new to rifles, I bought a Colt 6920 & AMD-65. Bought the Colt before the election, bought the AK before Sandy Hook. Got em both because I saw what was coming. Just started making money in July when I started residency (I'm a physician), albeit not making the "big bucks", but I budget well.

My eye has always been on a nice .308 but as we know they're expensive. So, by the time prices come back pre-panic levels in 6 months to a year I'd like to pick a .308 up. I love the feel of the SCAR, however I've invested heavily in Pmags (around 80 of the 20LR) so if I buy a SCAR I'd have to get one of the aftermarket lowers (Handl, Stryker or Cavalry assuming the latter 2 are available).

Anyway, looking at price, a SCAR 17s would be approximately the same price as a SIG 716 & 516. This is why I posed the question this way. I've held both, I like both, only thing I dislike about the sig is it is significantly heavier than the scar. Reading reviews, seems recoil is better with the scars as well and the scar reputation from testing with barrels rated to 30k rounds is something to consider. So my question is, what would you rather have (SCAR 17s with lower that fits pmags vs. SIG 716 & 516) and why?

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    SCAR over the Sig. Congrats on the 6920.

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    SCAR. hands down.

Is the piston a must ? For suppressor use ?

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    You can also dremel down the Pmags a little bit to get them to feed properly in the SCAR.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by HCM View Post
    SCAR. hands down.

Is the piston a must ? For suppressor use ?