Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Vepr 54R as a DMR starting point

Feedback Score

The Vepr 54R as a DMR starting point

A few months ago while working with Marc Krebs on another project we began discussing AK's in a DMR type roll. We both (and especially Marc) are aware of the many shortcomings inherent in the basic design of the AK that preclude traditional "precision" usage.

I began laying out what I believed to be the optimal jumping off point, and to my surprise, he said "like that one?" pointing to his personal rifle stack? Sure enough he and I had had the same idea for a precision AK. His was in .308, mine in 54R.

I hope to begin testing the concept that an "AK" can be a precision rifle with good ammunition and the right starting platform. The honest goal of the project is a 2moa rifle out to 800m.

I have zero experience with this type of shooting, and not a lot of time to get schooled in the black art and luck of the typical shooter of this type. With that said, I got a sneak peak at the Vepr in it's almost finished form and got to shoot her last week at the Big 3 East event in Daytona Beach FL.

Vepr 54R 20"
    Cut and crowned to 18.25"
    Threaded 5/8-24
    Surefire SOCOM 7.62FH
    Krebs Vepr Rail
    Vltor ModPod
    RS AK-303 lower and AKR upper
    Red Star Arms trigger set at 3#
    Vortex Viper PST 2.5-10x32 FFP MIL/MIL
    Magpul PRS stock

As soon as the build is finished it will be time to finish testing factory loads and start working up any potential hand loads for the Vepr.
    Using standard ball ammo at this time it is grouping around 3moa, from a very green barrel and only having sampled 2 loads: 147gr Wolf ball, 208gr Wolf soft point.

I am sure the platform has a lot more potential in it.
    Last edited by 96 SS; 04-01-13 at 07:20.

Feedback Score
    6 (88%)
    Is this something that will be available from Krebs? Or just a one off? Also, would there be anything in 308?

Feedback Score