Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: I Need Pistol Training in NY State,

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

I Need Pistol Training in NY State,

Hey Guys,

I got my pistol permit a little over half a year ago. Before that I shot a few pistols here and there by (prior to the NY CT bans) my father was a bit of a fudd. He taught me how to shoot rifles really well, but not much experience on the pistol front other then a half dozen or so plinking sessions here and there.

I have about 1000 rounds through pistols of various calibers in the last several months. I'm getting better, but I'm at a point of frustration.

All of my shots are low, grouping is OK with some fliers (to be expected as I get better), but I'm consistently low. I really want to do some training. My issue though is that I'm not a beginner shooter, so I don't want to take a "pistols for dummies" course. 95% of the shots I'm taking are on paper with this target:

I'm thinking I need to get some professional help to bring my shots in to dead center though.

Does anyone have any suggestions for good, no bull trainers in the Hudson Valley area? I am willing to drive about 3 hours one way to attend a class.
    Last edited by Mac5.56; 06-11-13 at 20:56.
    Mobocracy is alive and well in America.*
    *Supporting Evidence for Hypothesis: The Internet
    -me

'All of my firearms have 4 military features, a barrel, a trigger, a hammer, and a stock."
    -coworker

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    Chris Fry can give you some solid instruction.

http://www.mdtstraining.com

Mike

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    Where do you live? I will help, or give you names if you don't live by me. I'm south of Rochester
    "After I shot myself, my training took over and I called my parents..." Texas Grebner

"Take me with a grain of salt, my sarcasm does not relate well over the internet"

Jonathan Morehouse

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)