Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bushmaster Carbine - Change Parts?

Feedback Score

Bushmaster Carbine - Change Parts?

I've heard/read a ton from Colt AR15 fans regarding the other AR makers "low quality". Some folks suggest replacing the some of the "cheap" parts but I've not seen much in the way of specifics.

1) So what parts if any need/should be replaced in a Bushmaster carbine?
    2) Why?

I'm open to suggestions.

Thanks in advance.

Feedback Score
    8 (100%)
    I'm no expert but if I was buying a complete, off-the-shelf, Bushmaster I would do the following:

1) Ensure the front sight isn't canted.
    2) Replace the Bolt Carrier Group (BCG) with a Colt or a M16 CMT MP'd unit.
    3) Ensure the gas key bolts are properly staked
    4) Add a Crane O-Ring or Defender
    5) Replace the buffer with an H buffer
    6) Replace the plastic trigger guard with a Magpul unit

Some of the optional things I would look at would be:

- Replace the buttstock with a Vltor or LMT Crane unit.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Or another option is to run it stock for about 12 years and run about 12K thru it until something breaks....

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Harv
    Or another option is to run it stock for about 12 years and run about 12K thru it until something breaks....

That's my original plan, I'd just like to see what the good folks here think should be replaced and why.

I'm big on the why part.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

hahahaha
    Quote Originally Posted by Failure2Stop View Post
    In case anyone is keeping score, Cameron just won.
    Quote Originally Posted by Magic_Salad0892 View Post
    Cameron won again.

Feedback Score