Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 7.62X39 AR???

Feedback Score

7.62X39 AR???

I'm an avid hunter, and shooter. I own quite a few bolt actions and a few Browning Bars, but I'm new to the AR world. I just bought my first AR about a month ago and love it! Now I have the bug! I was thinking of getting an AR in 7.62X39. How many of you have one, and have you had any issues? This AR will primarily be used for plinking, and deer hunting. Any advice will be much appreciated.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    If you are really itching for an AR in something other than 5.56/.223, get a .300 BLK.
    That way you won't have to deal with finnicky mags (due to straight mag well and a heavily tapered cartridge) and bolts with a short life span (less material on bolt as the 7.62x39 has a wider base).

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Benito View Post
    If you are really itching for an AR in something other than 5.56/.223, get a .300 BLK.
    That way you won't have to deal with finnicky mags (due to straight mag well and a heavily tapered cartridge) and bolts with a short life span (less material on bolt as the 7.62x39 has a wider base).
    From what I've read .300 blk was designed specifically to be surpressed. I wonder how it'd be for a hunting round, and what will ammo availability be 5-10 years from now.

Feedback Score
    Or get a sexy remington 700 in 300 aac blk

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Bello View Post
    Or get a sexy remington 700 in 300 aac blk
    I'm sure I'll be barred now, but I'm not a huge remington fan. I'd rather have a browning any day! Not saying that they don't have quality firearms, but I'm a browning man all the way!

Feedback Score
    13 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mcj1980 View Post
    From what I've read .300 blk was designed specifically to be surpressed. I wonder how it'd be for a hunting round, and what will ammo availability be 5-10 years from now.