Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: AR-15 Pistol for shtf

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score

AR-15 Pistol for shtf

I am currently building an AR rifle. As of now, I just have a stripped lower and a complete parts kit. First, I have no pistol in my preps. I have a Chinese sks that I have refinished and added a spring mounted firing pin to combat slam fire or accidental discharges that I am very comfortable with. I was thinking of selling the sks for a pistol once the AR was done. My dilemma is that I have many friends pistols. I am not a proficient with a pistol even with a NRA training lessons. I know it is all about practice and the longer sight radius of a rifle. Any opinions if I should build a full AR rifle and keep the sks or build an AR pistol and keep the sks?

Thanks!

Good people sleep peaceably in their beds at night only because rough men stand ready to do violence on their behalf.

George Orwell.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I would build a rifle and sell the SKS to fund a pistol (not an AR pistol). Probably a M&P or a Glock.

Feedback Score
    274 (99%)
    Short answer is no. Build out the AR Rifle. I would keep the SKS and some ammo as a back up and look at getting a pistol. A good rifle is worth its weight in gold. Once you do get a pistol. Just keep practicing with it.

I look at a pistol as something to get me to my rifle.
    In no way do I make any money from anyone related to the firearms industry.

"I have never heard anyone say after a firefight that I wish that I had not taken so much ammo.", ME

"Texas can make it without the United States, but the United States can't make it without Texas !", General Sam Houston

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)