Thread: Having issues with PMC Bronze

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

Having issues with PMC Bronze

Well, I purchased a case of the stuff at the last Gun Show for $355. But since I started shooting it I've had 5 Failures to Extract. I currently have just under 3,000 rounds through my LWRC M6A1 (10.5-inch bbl). But since i was doing a lot of suppressed shooting (all the issues occurred unsuppressed), after the first FTE I thought it was just dirty so I cleaned it prior to doing some test with what was left of my S&B ammo and the next batch of PMC ammo I was took out of the case.

After two more FTEs, I thought the suspect was the S&B ammo since it did so with one o the last ones. But to be sure, I tried Militech Grease as lube of the BCG. Today I shot through 120 rounds of PMC and had 2 more FTEs. I even wiped off the Grease and put in Break-Free Extreme Sports Lube (I have a bottle of Slip 2000 on the way). But after I had another FTE, I looked in the ejection port to see a lot of what is either pieces of the brass or unburnt powder!! And it all came from the last 40-rounds because I had made sure it was clean before putting the BF-ESL in.

Tomorrow or this weekend, I plan on going back out to the range with some UMC or PRVI ammo just to see if I can induce the same malfunctions. I am also going to re-install the original extractor spring just to see if that may be it (I had replaced the spring and insert with a Buffer Technologies "upgrade" kit which included the black donut (black spring insert).

I will update as appropriate.
    We must not believe the Evil One when he tells us that there is nothing we can do in the face of violence, injustice and sin. - Pope Francis I

Feedback Score