Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Update 2/8 - Help. Torque Specs for Precision bolt gun build, ammo questions, etc

Feedback Score
    43 (100%)

Update 2/8 - Help. Torque Specs for Precision bolt gun build, ammo questions, etc

I'm putting together a bolt gun, and was hoping to get some questions answered. I'm not a newbie to precision shooting or even precision rifles, but I've been out of the game for at least 4 years.

The rifle is a bone stock 16.5" Remington 700 AAC-SD in .308. I've got a Badger Ordnance pic rail, Vortex Precision rings (made by Seekins IIRC), and a Vortex 6-24 FFP. I will be mounting an AAC 762-SD (It locks up tight to the mount) to this rifle, and bought it primarily to shoot paper at 600 yards, ring steel at 800 yards, and if I can work up a load that does not go transonic, I'll attempt steel at ~1015 yards with it as well. I'll just jump right into the questions.

A) What are the preferred torque specs for this rifle's action screws? Does it change if it is the factory Hogue, Magpul's new stock, or a custom stock?

B) I've heard 16.5" .308s like 175gr ammo. I bought a bunch of different kinds of 168gr and 175gr to test. Does anyone have any factory loads (or custom loads) this rifle may like?

C) What are the scope base screws and ring screws torque specs? This is all over the internet and it seems everyone has a different answer.

D) Tricks to leveling the scope when mounting? I have the Wheeler scope mounting kit with levels, but it seems like every time I mount a scope its always off. If there is one thing that makes me hate precision rifles, it is mounting a scope.

E) AAC Flash Hider Torque Specs? I know 1/2x28 is 20-30. What is 5/8x24? Ideally, I want as much torque as possible (to prevent the mount from unscrewing with the can) without affecting precision.