Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Am I looking at a gas block problem?

Feedback Score

Am I looking at a gas block problem?

Hi Folks,

I'm trying to troubleshoot a no-name 16" mid length upper. Every so often the bolt does not hold back after last round. Also I'd say every 20-30 shots the firearm cycles ok (spent case ejects), click, no bang, and there is no cartridge in the chamber. I've played with buffers, tried different ammo, bolt, entire lowers and magazines.

Do the pictures mean anything? I am assuming (very novicely) that the gas block is somehow not in spec and is leaking gas and/or was not installed properly...

2nd picture is the same as the 1st, but I suspect there is gas leaking in the highlighted area? I am not technical savvy to decipher them. Also does the gas port look ok?

Thanks in advance...

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)
    I see nothing obviously wrong with the gas port. The carbon fouling almost centered around the port is a good sign because it indicates that the hole on the gas block is completely over the port.

I know you said you had tried different ammo and magazines, but what specific ammo and magazines have you tried?

What does the gas block itself look like? Is it a sight tower block and pinned, or low profile? What does the gas tube look like? Have you looked for any damage, cracks or holes in the gas tube?

Feedback Score
    In addition to my post above, the gas tube is covered in dark sooth. Is the only way it can get that dark is gas coming back from here (see below pic)? Or am I really looking at a bad/leaky gas system here?

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by SomeOtherGuy View Post
    I see nothing obviously wrong with the gas port. The carbon fouling almost centered around the port is a good sign because it indicates that the hole on the gas block is completely over the port.

I know you said you had tried different ammo and magazines, but what specific ammo and magazines have you tried?