Thread: Timney trigger for 3 Gun?

Feedback Score

Timney trigger for 3 Gun?

I've been shooting 3 Gun for a few months now and I'm considering a trigger upgrade on my rifle. I'm currently using a RRA 2-stage, but I think I would be better off with a single stage trigger. I was leaning toward the Timney, but I'm not sure if I should get the 3lb or 4lb version. I've looked at several other triggers, but I keep coming back to the Timney for some reason. Any reason not to get one? Which weight would be best? Thanks in advance...

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    There isn't anything wrong with a Timney. IMHO there wasn't anything glaringly spectacular either. But triggers are all personal preference. So if you like how Timney feel go with it. I'm personally a huge fan of the AR Gold. They are the closest thing I've found to my high end 2lb Infinity 1911 triggers. Having both pistol and rifle with a trigger that feels the same is nice to me.

I'd always go with the lighter 3lb trigger. 2lbs is what mine break at.

If you go Timney give me a shout on PM or email. I can save you 10% on one over at Optics Planet.

Feedback Score
    Thanks Jesse. I'm also looking at the JP EZ Trigger. Any thoughts on that one?

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Mike9250 View Post
    Thanks Jesse. I'm also looking at the JP EZ Trigger. Any thoughts on that one?
    I used the JP trigger for a couple years until I found the AR Gold. It's not as EZ to install as the Timney or AR Gold. It requires some adjusting/tuning. I've always had my gunsmith Accurate Iron install my JP's. I think I still have 2-3 of them. I have one that is really light which is awesome!
    Last edited by Jesse Tischauser; 06-15-15 at 08:25.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    The Timney that is in the new Armalite rifles is pretty nice. I've been happy with mine for the short time I've had one.
    Ken Bloxton
    Skill > Gear

Feedback Score