G&R Tactical

Thread: AAR - Magpul Core Long Range Precision I - Yakima, WA - 8/29 9/1, 2015

Feedback Score

AAR - Magpul Core Long Range Precision I - Yakima, WA - 8/29 9/1, 2015

Magpul Core – Long Range Precision I
    August 29 – September 1, 2015
    Yakima, WA

I’ll start by saying that I am very new to precision shooting. I have been shooting most of my life and have trained extensively with pistols and carbines for many years. My only experience with bolt actions rifles has been short to medium range hunting. My introduction to long range precision shooting started less than two months ago. If I get any of the lingo or reference wrong, it is because I don’t know what I am talking about. Hopefully you will get my meaning and this review will be helpful. Unfortunately, I did not take any pictures. It was not a priority and I was more focused on the training.

My goals for the class were:
    • Identify 2-3 areas to focus on improving, in order to build a 12-month developmental training plan
    • Maximize the fit of my rifle to me
    • Test myself in a new skill
    • Test my gear and equipment to see what works and what does not work

The range was on private property about 30 miles outside Yakima near Sunnyside, Washington. The facility was excellent with several ranges, and wide open space. The wind was up the entire time and this made for a great training environment.

On days one and two, the weather was cold and raining for most of the morning. I am glad I brought several layers to stay comfortable throughout the day. Each day we started at 8:00 AM sharp, and ended at around 5:00 PM.

Handouts:
    • Magpul Precision Rifle Quick Reference Cards
    • Magpul Precision Rifle Data Book
    • Class syllabus

NOTE: The quick reference cards and the data book work really well together. I am glad I had not bought a data book yet. This is a great system; I am likely going to use this going forward.

Classroom topics covered:
    • Circle of components