Thread: General question on sniper rifles

Feedback Score

General question on sniper rifles

Since I know next to nothing about current sniper rifles, this is directed to the experts:

Do current bolt-action sniper rifles in service with the military, FBI, Law Enforcement, etc. (as a rule) tend to have heavy-profile barrels or standard barrels?

This stems from a conversation at work. A co-worker asserted that, to be capable of the required accuracy, a heavy barrel is pretty much mandatory. He might be right - I don't know.

Feedback Score
    49 (100%)
    Slater,

I've been serving in the LE observer/sniper role for a few years now, and precision rifle shooting has been a passion of mine as long as I can remember. By policy, we have to attend at least 1 sniper school a year and if possible one advanced course/workshop every 18 months on top of regular training and general SWAT training. In this time I've seen alot of agency "sniper rifles".

A vast majority have been stock Remington guns with varmint contour barrels (LTR, PSS, etc.). On occasion, I've seen a few Savages and commercial Remingtons with thinner barrels. Those do OK too.

I have seen some REALLY heavy barrels on some guys' custom-built guns. I'm pretty sure one guy from up near DeKalb was rocking a straight barrel with what appeared to be no taper. Personally, I always thought this was overkill given the roll of the sniper around these parts. For the most part, our SOP rarely has us operating beyond 200m. I happen to be a BIG fan of palma profile barrels as they offer good accuracy but with less overall mass. I've found that a medium palma holds up just fine for what we do.

While we put huge emphasis on fractions of an inch and pinpoint accuracy, I have found that a huge, bulky rifle is a liability, and a smarter barrel length an profile is a good place to start. You can see I put my money (a LOT of money) where my mouth is when I designed what I think is the quintessential LE sniper rifle.