Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: $2k too much for beginner/LPV

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)

$2k too much for beginner/LPV

I've been looking at all the options for LPV optics and the market is pretty flooded. A lot of options for both low budget and high end. I don't have any real time behind optics other than my Aimpoints, so I'm looking to dive into the LPV game.

I'm a hobbyist shooter looking to expand my skills. Possibly get into 3 gun comps. in the future, but more focused on additional training and learning how to use my rifle at greater distances beyond iron sights. I'm pretty proficient with my irons at a 100-150 yds, but my eyes are getting older and also dealing with astigmatism.

I would classify myself as a novice with magnified optics. I would have to train with someone who could teach me all the nuances of shooting with LPV optics. That being said, is it ridiculous to spend $1500-$2000 on a 1-4x, 1-6x LPV optic for someone just starting? Not really looking for recommendations for scopes as there's tons of info already, just wondering if I'm biting off more than I can chew.

Considering:

Trijicon Accupower 1-4x
    NF NXS 1-4x
    Vortex Razor HD 1-6x
    Leupold Mk6
    Swarovski Z61

Feedback Score
    58 (100%)
    If "daylight bright" lume is a consideration, scratch the NF.

What you intend to do with the scope will help determine which way to go.
    What reticle do you think you want? There's a bunch of choices, some being better with precision at moderate range, some better at speed on coarser targets, etc.
    The Steiner PX4i is around 600 bucks and a standout imo at that price point.
    This 1X4 has daylight bright lume, making it fast on target, a reasonably fine plex and ranging reticle, making precision at distance do-able.
    It is also one of the lightest LPVs I would consider.
    It would be a decent 3 gun optic.

A 1X6 gives you greater versatility yet, with precision at distance.