Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: On loose carrier key screws

Feedback Score
    7 (100%)

On loose carrier key screws

In this ’08 post I talked about how carrier key screws could be optimized:
    https://www.m4carbine.net/showthread...ier+key+screws

I have sold some in small quantities over the years but now there is a new version that I have been providing to the industry at per-thousand pricing since 2016. They will start getting noticed pretty soon I think, and I think it’s time to explain them and let it be known that I’m ready to make them available to the individual and armorers, at less than what is mentioned in the old post.

In testing, the new OCKS™ (Optimized Carrier Key Screw) offers a huge increase in breaking torque….. huge. Where the breaking torque spec is 55-100 inch pounds, I have had readings as high as 132 inch pounds breaking torque with screws installed at 50 inch-pounds, the bottom of the 50-58 inch-pounds torque spec. Nothing else I’ve tested has come close to this.

A good many manufacturers continue to not get this simple requirement right. Some do a poor job of staking, some still don’t do it at all, some I believe still deny the need for it. Some don’t do it because they think it detracts from the “looks” of their BCG. Well those in particular are not, I’m pretty sure, getting much business from M4C-isti, but as we all know, that is still part of the market.