Thread: What the best to use?

Feedback Score

Question What the best to use?

I'm still kinda new at shooting. I was wondering what the best kind of ammo is I should use. I have a DPMS M4. I haven't done anything to it...yet. Just barebones right now and I want to make sure i'm shooting the good stuff.

Any help would be great!

I like it when a flower or a little tuft of grass grows through a crack in the concrete. It's so ****in' heroic!!

Feedback Score
    Federal or Hornady is always good, sometimes pricey though. Ammoman.com has really good deals as well, they deal in bulk so the prices are lower.

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    +1 on Ammoman.com A coworker of mine is good friends with the guy who owns that site.

As far as what ammo to use, if you're just plinking or target shooting at this point, I'd use some milspec 55grain ammo. My target ammo is the Federal XM-193 or equivalent. Check your local gun store for some good deals. You usually get a better deal (price/bullet) if you buy in bulk, so if you can foot the cash I recommend doing so.

I avoid the Wolf brand. They're pretty dirty, plus I've had a few bad primers.
    A man with a gun is a citizen. A man without a gun is a subject.

Feedback Score
    Given the current price of ammo I'd be looking for the best value. Mil-Spec 5.56 would be preferred over comercial .223.
    +1 on staying away from Wolf. The AR platform wasn't really designed to shoot the steel case ammo and the quality of Wolf leaves something to be desired.

Other than the suggestions above, I'd see if theere are any gunshows in your area. Around here we have a few ammo dealers who offer good deals at the shows...plus you save shipping.

Feedback Score
    I shoot only XM-193 Lake City (Federal) 55grs FMJ that I buy in 500 round
    cases.

Stay away from Wolf Ammo. Period!
    "We make war that we may live in peace."
    -Aristotle

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)