Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: How Do You Hold Your Rifle? Recoil Management

Feedback Score

How Do You Hold Your Rifle? Recoil Management

I have been shooting for less than 2 years, no previous experience. I have a carbine length AR with a vertical post. What concerns me is recoil management. I have discovered how bad I am. In looking at videos of rock solid shooters, they seem to prefer the C-grip. Some utilize a vertical grip partway, choke up on it, and wrap the thumb over. There seem to be three or four styles, magazine grip, standard (hand under hand guard), vertical post grip, and C-grip either with a vertical post or without.

I have a muzzle break and a USGI sling but maybe those are separate issues.

What type of grip do you use for recoil management?

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Hold your rifle tight into your shoulder, use a proper cheek weld. Use your support hand and pull the rifle into your shoulder.

Forget about C-clamping, that is just a bunch of dumb youtube operator crap. It won't help you anymore than actually gripping your rifle properly.

Try shooting some actual large caliber rifles, 308, 30-06, then you will understand how to mitigate recoil and hold a rifle for recoil management. Once you shoot a 223 after the 223 will feel like a bb gun in regards to recoil. Forget about fancy muzzle brakes, and forget about how youtube operators c-clamp their guns, just grip your rifle comfortably and firmly, and find what works for you.

In regards to ''tactical operator crap''
    If you are right handed, try to tuck in your right elbow so it doesn't stick out like a chicken wing, and vice versa if you are left handed. That way you make yourself a smaller target.

Also, square up your feet about shoulder width apart. Lean forward or center yourself, try not to lean back because guys that lean back while holding rifles and pistols look like chicks that don't know how to shoot ( and also makes for very poor recoil management ).