Feedback Score
    3 (100%)

Ammo for the SHTF Stash

I'm building two SBR ARs
    10.5" LMT
    &
    12.5" Noveske

These two will be fun and for SHTF.
    I'm relatively new to ARs and I don't have any ammo built up. I'd like to store 1 or 2K (yes, I'd love more but can't afford it right now) of reliable accurate enough ammo for SHTF. Reliability is #1 here.

Of course both guns will have a 1:7 twist, and I'd love to buy 2K of MK262 or 75 gr. TAP, but I don't have that kinda dough.

What do you recommend? Here is what I'm considering. Tell me what ya' think and if I've left any out:

-Winchester Q3131 55 gr. 5.56. This stuff has shot well in any and every AR I've tried it in. Decent on accuracy, but velcoity is always pretty high.

-Prvi Partizan M193. Can't find any here locally to put through my guns first, but it has a great rep.

-Prvi Partizan M855. Can't find any here locally to put through my guns first, but it has a great rep.

-Prvi Partizan .223 75 gr. Match. Has a decent rep for accuray and reliablity. I wonder how it would do in the SBRs. Hears it's a bit light.
    Have Fun, Be Safe

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by No Bananas View Post
    -Winchester Q3131 55 gr. 5.56. This stuff has shot well in any and every AR I've tried it in. Decent on accuracy, but velcoity is always pretty high.
    You should want the high velocity in a 55-gr projectile.

-Prvi Partizan M193. Can't find any here locally to put through my guns first, but it has a great rep.
    I've shot a few thousand rounds of this ammo. It is indeed built to M193 specs. Good training ammo.

If you're using those SBR's you should really consider a JHP or JSP round for real use. The short barrel really robs the performance of FMJ rounds. If you really like the 75-gr TAP, save up the money and buy it.

Do you really need 2,000 rds in a stash? That's 66, 30-rd magazines! Unless you're digging in for some "Red Dawn" action, that's a lot of ammo.

Feedback Score