Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Good 45 Colt DA revolver?

Feedback Score

Good 45 Colt DA revolver?

I have a marlin Lever action 45.
    An uncle also gave me a SA 45 Colt.

I am considering a da revolver to round things out.

This a a caliber and type of pistol I have little personal experience with.

There are a ton of judges lying in the cases at LGSs.

That is not the way I am looking to go.
    “Where weapons may not be carried, it is well to carry weapons.”

Feedback Score
    Older smith and Wesson model 25. Will have to be patient and hunt for a while to find one. Ruger did also make the redhawk in 45 Colt. If you want to go retro Colt made the new service in 45 Colt or the military issue M1909 Colt ( basically a military marked new service) easiest to find is likely the S&W 25. They were made mostly in 45 acp but they did runs of 45 colts at various times

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    I would start with a Ruger Redhawk. I don't know if you also have a .45 ACP, but they sell a convertible model for both .45 Colt, and .45 ACP.

https://ruger.com/products/redhawk/specSheets/5032.html

I like the .45 Colt cartridge as I reload, and can push it to magnum levels, but I choose not to as I only have a USFA SAA and you don't want to go over the standard load which is still quite capable.
    Last edited by Pilot1; 03-23-18 at 16:27.

Feedback Score
    58 (100%)
    I'm partial to the "Mountain Gun" S&W.
    4" skinny barrel. It recoils a bit but is great for packing all day. It would be a great companion gun to your Marlin.
    A 250-270 gr. Keith type, cast bullet (gas check or flat base) at around 1100 FPS kills about like a .30/06 to 50 yds. with decent shot placement.

I have a pair of 625-6 that were the last of the "no MIM, no lock" guns that I've used hog and deer hunting.