Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Knife Steel Article

Feedback Score
    5 (100%)

Knife Steel Article

Been trying to learn a bit more about the various steels used to make knives beyond the hype and marketing. This seemed like balanced article, but I'm not an expert on the topic. For those with the expertise, what say you? What's another article to read on the topic that summarizes the various steels? Some of the "ultra premium" steels like CPM S110V sound cool, but not clear the $ is worth it beyond bragging rights and such. But, buy once cry once as they say. Sounds like the basics will cover most people most of the time in most situations.

http://knifeinformer.com/discovering...t-knife-steel/
    - Will

General Performance/Fitness Advice for all

www.BrinkZone.com

LE/Mil specific info:

https://brinkzone.com/category/swatleomilitary/

“Those who do not view armed self defense as a basic human right, ignore the mass graves of those who died on their knees at the hands of tyrants.”

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    I don't consider myself an expert on the topic, but like you, have tried to learn as much as I can on the topic by browsing Bladeforums and learning from the experts who are th experts. Just like I do here.

As far as S110v goes, from what I know, it is ultra wear resistant so it has great edge retention. Likewiise, it is that much harder to sharpen because of it.

It also depends on your needs. S110v might be wear resistant due to the vanadium content but is not as tough as say something like CPM-3V or CPM-M4. So if you are looking for a survival blade, S110v is probably not your best choice.