Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 13" ALG EMRv3 vs BCM MCMR-13 vs Geissele Mk8 rigidity?

Feedback Score
    63 (100%)

13" ALG EMRv3 vs BCM MCMR-13 vs Geissele Mk8 rigidity?

Which one of these is going to be the most rigid? As in, a better host for lasers, iron sights, etc? Which will be the least?

I'm going to replace an ALG EMRv2 since I prefer more top rail, and I have a BCM MCMR-13 inbound and a Geissele Mk8 on the shelf. My go to rifle has an ALG EMRv3, but I'm not tied to any one set up. They all seem to end up pretty close once I throw a RDS on them.

RDS or not, I often turn it off and practice with irons. That coupled with the fact I'd like a night vision setup at some point has me curious about rigidity, maintaining zero, etc.

Feedback Score
    4 (100%)
    I have very little experience with the ALG rails, but own the MCMR-13 and several variations of Geissele rails including the Mk8. I’d have to go with the Mk8 in rigidity if worried about deflection using IR. The Mk8 isn’t the most ergonomic rail though, I’d look at the Mk14 to be honest or try to find a Hodge Wedgelock or wait for the P-lok to be released.

Feedback Score
    12 (100%)
    I have no experience with the MCMR but owned a bunch of KMR's. I currently own an ALG EMR V2 and the MK8.

The MK8 barrel nut is a beast and the rail is bomb proof. Hands down the strongest of the bunch. The ALG barrel nut is pretty robust as well and I use that rifle for PCC, so its gets banged around a lot and my irons have never lost zero. Out of all 3 the BCM has the most flex (i.e. if trying to push rail towards barrel) but it's never failed so I can't really hate on it.

Feedback Score
    6 (100%)
    I have a BCM KMR on one of my carbines and my wife has the ALG EMR-V2. I installed both. The barrel nut on the ALG feel much more robust and sturdy than the KMR. The ALG rail itself is more rigid and seems to handle bumps better regarding flex. Woth that said my KMR is an original, not the Alpha model.