Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Range Finder Advice

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Feedback Score
    33 (100%)

Range Finder Advice

I'm going to be shopping for a range finder soon, or asking for one for Christmas , but I've never used one before. I'll mainly be using it for practice, out plinking, and to verify distances as I learn to range with a mil dot reticle. It seems like a small, lightweight, pocket sized handheld model would suffice, but I don't know anything about them and how to use them. I'm starting my research now, but I thought I'd ask around here too.

What should I be looking for? What features should I consider a must, and or unnecessary? What are the brands, models, and price points I should be looking at? Ofc I want the most bang for my buck, but I like quality and believe you get what you pay for, so won't skimp for the sake of a few bucks.

Any and all input is welcome and appreciated.

Feedback Score
    14 (100%)
    What are the longest ranges you anticipate lazing??
    "What would a $2,000 Geissele Super Duty do that a $500 PSA door buster on Black Friday couldn't do?" - Stopsign32v

Feedback Score
    I do a lot of long range shooting and hunting and have used a lot of rangefinders (Bushnell, Leica, Gunworks, Vortex, Sig, Terrapin, Vectronics, etc), and I would say the best bang for your buck would be the Sig Kilo 2200MR. It will range out to 3,000 yards in perfect conditions (I've hit 3,340 with mine once), but will regularly range out to a mile with ease. It also has a fast scan mode and angle range compensation. You can get them for around $400.

Unless you need a rangefinder that will tie in all of your ballistic data and output your drops in MRAD/MOA, this is the best bang for the buck by far, in my opinion.

https://www.sigsauer.com/store/kilo2....html?___SID=U
    Last edited by B Cart; 10-16-18 at 18:28. Reason: added price

Feedback Score
    33 (100%)