Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: AR Piston Upper - Not a DI vs. Piston Question

Feedback Score

AR Piston Upper - Not a DI vs. Piston Question

I have a dozen DI AR's (Colt and LMT) that I have been buying since 1988. I have an extra LMT lower that I would like to put some kind of Piston upper on and try that system out. I have no complaints at all with my DI experience, but I want to at least play around with the piston system which I have not experienced. I don't need anything special with interchangeable barrel or anything extremely high end. I just want a good basic piston upper with 16 inch barrel.

I have looked at the Adams Arms entry level piston upper online, and I have seen some of the POF offerings. For me this would be a learning experience to see how well the piston system works and compare it to what I know and like with my DI weapons.

Any advice would be appreciated.
    Maj. USAR (Ret) 160th SOAR, 2/17 CAV
    NRA Life Member
    Black Mesa Ranch. Raising Fine Cattle and Horses in San Miguel County since 1879

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    If you want to try a good "piston" upper, get the HK. Probably the best one there is.
    The number of folks on my Full Of Shit list grows everyday

http://i115.photobucket.com/albums/n289/SgtSongDog/AR%20Carbine/DSC_0114.jpg
    I am American

Feedback Score
    2 (100%)
    Major, I would like to suggest that you consider an upper by Primary Weapons Systems. They are, as far as I know, the only company that uses a long stroke system for the AR. Uses less moving parts than any of the short stroke systems, made in Idaho by good people with first class customer support, and comes with an adjustable gas system. Much lighter weight than the HK to boot. Probably the most underrated premium AR manufacturer of which I'm aware.

I have no association with PWS beyond being a happy customer.

Feedback Score
    19 (100%)