Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Getting into hunting advice

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

Getting into hunting advice

So hunting is something I have never done before, but have wanted to for a long time (specifically deer and hog). The thing is I have no idea where to start. So just asking for some advice what I could do to get started.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Freewilly5759 View Post
    So hunting is something I have never done before, but have wanted to for a long time (specifically deer and hog). The thing is I have no idea where to start. So just asking for some advice what I could do to get started.
    What state do you live in? Do you or friends have large tracts of land with animals on it or are you going to be a public land hunter? Deer are pretty easy to hunt, what level of land access you have is the thing none of us know. And different states/ecosystems will be better suited to different approaches in terms of finding shots on animals.

Other than that I’d spend some time watching videos on how to gut four legged critters(because then everything you hunt will follow the same basic formula.) Remember that gutting and animal quickly and cooling it off while keeping it clean is the secret to delicious game meat.

Camo, scent control products, cover scents, lures, and so forth are almost entirely bullshit...especially for rifle hunting. Don’t wear cologne or smoke in the woods and pay attention to the wind, and move slowly instead. I do wear camo, but for deer I really don’t believe it matters very much.

I’ll give something valuable as soon as I learn where and what you’re hunting.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Take a hunter safety course.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)
    Quote Originally Posted by Inkslinger View Post
    Definitely this. Depending on your age it’s almost certainly required by law, and you’ll actually learn a lot, especially since you are new.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)