Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just wondering you guys thought, Primer pics.

Feedback Score

Just wondering you guys thought, Primer pics.

Ok, I am a little new at looking for signs. I hear about flatten primers offen, but never really knew what to look for.

After my range trip, I noticed some seem pretty flat. In the first pic the two cases lost there primers, came out after ejection, cause I find the primer, the other was about 3/4 of the way out, I pushed back in with no real effort. I am assuming maybe the primer pocket is not good.

So what do you guys think??. Some seem ok, but others I am not sure about.

As far as load data, I am right in the middle. On all the powders, I took the min and max, and split it. So they are all loaded right in the middle.

Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    The price of liberty is, always has been, and always will be blood: The person who is not willing to die for his liberty has already lost it to the first scoundrel who is willing to risk dying to violate that person's liberty! Are you free?
    --- Andrew Ford

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    You should never, never be blowing primers out of primer pockets. That's a very bad sign.

I'd check headspace on the rifle. If that's in spec, then there's some problem with the ammo. That very lowest cartridge in the last photo? Primer looks mighty flat. If the rifle is in spec, pressure is too high.

Are you using a chronograph? Watch for excessive velocities which signal excessive pressures.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by Uni-Vibe View Post
    You should never, never be blowing primers out of primer pockets. That's a very bad sign.

I'd check headspace on the rifle. If that's in spec, then there's some problem with the ammo. That very lowest cartridge in the last photo? Primer looks mighty flat. If the rifle is in spec, pressure is too high.

Are you using a chronograph? Watch for excessive velocities which signal excessive pressures.