Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What is a strain screw?

Feedback Score

What is a strain screw?

Hey guys,

I took my revolver (I'm new to revolvers) out today, SW 19-4, and had light primer strikes. Same ammo I have used before (Fiocchi 38 special) without issue. First time I've show it in the cold, but I have a hard time thinking it was the temps fault.

I was doing some reading online and people keep talking about checking the strain screw. Like I said above, I am new to revolvers. What is a strain screw?

Also, any other advice or tips you have for this issue lemme know. Thanks homies.

Feedback Score
    1 (100%)

What is a strain screw?

It puts pressure on the mainspring... if you loosen it, can remove the mainspring easily.

Not familiar with your specific revolver, but when you pull the grips, do you see a coil spring running up towards the hammer, or a leaf spring?

If you have the leaf, look for a screw pushing on it. That is the strain screw. My Victory revolver, which is an M&P, has a screw on the front strap. Loosening that reduces pressure on the mainspring.
    Last edited by Screwball; 02-05-19 at 16:10.

Feedback Score
    Since the Model 19-4 is an older gun, I am assuming you bought it used. It is very possible that a previous owner turned the strain screw out which will lighten the double action trigger pull. It can also lead to light primer strikes.

Feedback Score
    3 (100%)
    The strain screw is located on the front strap of a 19-4, near the bottom. It should be screwed in all the way against the main spring, which is a leaf.

If the screw is already tight, then either the spring needs to be replaced, or dried lube or misc gunk may be slowing down the hammer.

Feedback Score
    Quote Originally Posted by grizzman View Post
    If the screw is already tight, then either the spring needs to be replaced, or dried lube or misc gunk may be slowing down the hammer.