Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: First AR. Questions about sights, optics, and magazines

Feedback Score

First AR. Questions about sights, optics, and magazines

Finishing up my first AR build. Aero lower with BCM LPK. Complete 14.5 midlength BCM upper with Midwest industries ssk12 rail.

Few questions I need advice on.

1. I am new to AR platform and rifles in general. Right now I have no sights. Since I am new is it better to a) buy a cheap RDS to practice on like a holosun/primary arms or b) buy a set of BUIS like the Magpul pros to learn on irons before any optics at all?

3. Should I get gen 2 or gen 3 pmags? Any major advantage to the gen 3? I will probably one day replace the aero lower with a BCM lower and use this lower on another build and I heard gen 3s may not work well with the BCM lower.

Thanks and pics for attention.

Sent from my SM-N950U using Tapatalk

Feedback Score
    Welcome to the world of AR's! If you are new to rifles and shooting in general, most traditionalists would likely recommend learning on a set of iron sights. This is a fundamental skill that will serve you well with many rifles. However, a red dot sight is a joy to use and is super simple for one getting started or for the pros. You can invest lots of money in a high-end red dot like an Aimpoint that works great and is bombproof, but you can buy something at a small fraction of the cost like a Primary Arms for less than $90. See: https://www.primaryarms.com/primary-...ble-base-gen-2 . I have purchased both and use both. If I knew I was going to be deployed for 6 months and carrying the rifle every day, I'd prefer the Aimpoint, but realistically, the Primary Arms will hold up great. Use the price difference to buy ammo and train. Good luck!

Feedback Score
    Get a quality set of irons and shoot that until you have the cash for a quality red dot.